Red Sox Top 5 All-Star moments

The Guru
Contributing Writer

The 84th Major League Baseball All-Star Game takes place tonight at Citi Field in New York.

Red Sox Lifer's will have plenty to root for as David Ortiz will start the game and bat sixth. Second baseman Dustin Pedroia will also see time in the game. Clay Buchholz will be there, but will not play due to injury.

The Red Sox have had their share of memorable moments in the Midsummer Classic. Here's the top 5.

Number 5: 2008 All-Star J.D. Drew had two hits, including a home run, and drove in two runs to earn MVP in the AL's 4-3, 15-inning win at Yankee Stadium.

Number 4: 1970 All-Star Carl Yastrzemski had four hits and was the game's MVP despite an AL 5-4 loss. Yaz played center field, left field and first base, going 4-for-6. The game is best remembered for the Pete Rose/Ray Fosse collision at home plate.

Number 3: Pitching at Fenway Park in the 1999 All-Star Game, Pedro Martinez dazzled the National League by striking out the first four batters — Barry Larkin, Larry Walker, Sammy Sosa and Mark McGwire. Martinez struck out five in two innings, the AL won 4-1 and Pedro was named MVP.

Number 2: In the 1941 All-Star Game, Ted Williams hit a walk-off, three-run homer to give the American League a 7-5 win at Briggs Stadium in Detroit. The homer capped a four-run ninth for the AL. The Kid was a 19-time All-Star in his career and holds eight All-Star records.

Number 1: The 1999 All-Star Game at Fenway Park was a night when the greatest living players were honored as part of the All Century Team. Stan Musial, Willie Mays and Hank Aaron were among the many honored in a moving pregame tribute. As the sport's past met its present and future, the biggest ovation was left for Boston's own Splendid Splinter, Ted Williams.

Williams tipped his cap to the crowd as Cal Ripken Jr., Tony Gwynn, Mark McGwire and every other player -- retired and active -- closed in around him for a baseball embrace. Then Pedro did his thing.

All-Star coverage of the pregame ceremonies will start at 7:30 p.m. ET on FOX, with first pitch scheduled for 8 p.m. Matt Scherzer of the Tigers gets the start for the AL. Hometown favorite Matt Harvey of the Mets will get the start for the National League.

Follow The Guru on Twitter @TheGuruGS
More musings from The Guru.